• Participate
  • Why School Boards?
  • HSD Response
  • Fast Facts
  • Timeline

Your Voice is Important

The Manitoba government has established a new Commission to undertake a comprehensive, independent review of the kindergarten to Grade 12 education system. The process will include extensive consultation across Manitoba (Feb. 2019 – May 2019), and consider a wide range of topics such as student learning, teaching, accountability for student learning, governance and funding. Visit the Manitoba Education Website to learn more details about the Commission’s mandate, areas of focus, and guiding principles.

You can participate by attending a public workshop, submitting a written response, or completing the online survey. Share your voice and help shape the future of education in Manitoba. See details listed below.

1. ATTEND A PUBLIC WORKSHOP

The Manitoba Commission on Kindergarten to Grade 12 Education is hosting a series of interactive public workshops to get your views and opinions. View all consultations.

Click Here to Reserve Tickets Now (Reservation Required)

Steinbach – May 14, 2019
Interactive Public Workshop (6:00pm)
Pat Porter Active Living Centre
10 Chrysler Gate, Steinbach, MB

2. COMPLETE ONLINE SURVEY

Two online surveys are available for Manitobans to provide their input on the education issues that are important to them. Survey must be completed by May 30, 2019.

Access Public Survey
Access Teacher’s Survey

3. SUBMIT WRITTEN RESPONSE

One way in which you can participate in the public consultation for the K-12 Education Review is by providing a written submission to the Commission. This is your chance to make recommendations on how to keep what’s working and suggest changes for what needs to improve in public education. To ensure the Commission considers your submission, please include your name and contact information. Send written response by email, fax, or postal mail.

Download Letter Template – Support of School Boards

Email: K12educationcommission@gov.mb.ca
Fax: 204-945-0221

Manitoba’s Commission on K-12 Education
470-800 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, MB R3G 0N4

The deadline for receipt of written submissions is May 30, 2019.

School Boards Matter

Two matters which may be under consideration in this review are the large-scale amalgamation of the 37 elected school boards in our province, and a possible move to appointed, rather than elected, school boards.

School boards are grassroots, democratic institutions. Alone, either of these changes would severely undermine the ability of communities to shape local schools. The first would create overly-large administrative units, and the second would eliminate the right of communities to choose their own representatives to govern their school system. Together, these two changes could silence the community’s voice in education completely, and take away community ownership of local schools.

As citizens within the communities of Hanover School Division, we believe it is important to advocate for school division autonomy. This ensures decisions are made locally, based on what is best for the students within our schools. If you value education and your ability to help shape local schools to meet community needs, we encourage you to voice your concerns about these possible changes with provincial government officials, including the Premier of Manitoba, the Minister of Education and Training, and your local MLA.

Partners in Education

Hanover School Division Board of Trustees welcome a review of our public education system, including all areas of focus indicated by the K-12 Education Review Commission: Student Learning, Teaching, Accountability for Student Learning, Governance, and Funding.

However, we share the concern that this review may also explore the possibility of school division amalgamation or change to the existing governance structure. HSD Board of Trustees strongly oppose any mandated reduction of school divisions in Manitoba, or the elimination of locally elected school boards.

Our school communities have experienced continuous and significant growth, and as a Board we have established close working relationships with community members and Parent Advisory Councils. Our collaborative work has resulted in effective and impactful changes, that have benefited all HSD students.

As partners in education, we are invested in our communities and the education of our children. It is our belief that local/elected school boards, as opposed to government-appointed representatives, will always understand and envision the needs of their communities in a better way. More importantly, as parents, grandparents, and fellow community members, we value our ability to have ownership over the educational needs of our children. By removing local school boards, the provincial government would effectively remove this ability from our community.

If you have further questions or concerns regarding this review, please contact one of our Board Members.

Did You Know?

School Boards are Cost-Effective:
Manitoba’s school boards cost just half a cent on every dollar spent on education today.

School Boards are Affordable:
On average, Manitoba school trustees earn less than $10 for each day of service to their community.

School Boards are Efficient:
School boards have already cut 15% from school administration budgets this year. In 2005, following the elimination of 20 school boards in Manitoba, virtually no cost savings were achieved. Instead of saving the millions targeted by government of the day, dollars were spent to save dimes. An independent study on the experience concluded that, rather than amalgamating school divisions, the government would have done better to focus time and effort on meaningful education reform.

School Boards Manage Under Pressure:
Affected school boards will ensure that no student is impacted when nearly two weeks of funding are removed over the next six years.

School Boards Have Local Support:
56% of Manitobans support keeping school boards at the local level,to serve their community.

School Boards are Valued by Communities:
Less than one out of ten Manitobans would support the elimination of school boards.

School Boards are Democratic:
Over 80% of Manitobans believe that continuing to elect school boards remains an important democratic right.

School Boards are Gender Equal:
Over half of all school trustees are women, the highest level of representation among all elected officials in Manitoba.

School Boards are Essential:
Half of all Manitobans directly depend on the programs, services and supports provided by our public schools today.

School Boards Support Excellence:
Eight out of ten students perform at or above expected standards in reading, math and science in Manitoba – the same as in every other province.

School Boards are Helping Manitoba to Improve:
On the last national exam in reading, math and science, only Manitoba’s students showed improvement across all three subjects.

School Boards Reflect Local Ownership:
Manitoba is the only province where local school boards can keep taxes local, for the benefit of children in their own community. In all other provinces, school property tax is collected by the provincial government.

School Boards Focus on Kids:
96 cents out of every dollar spent on education goes directly to providing students with programs, supports and services.

School Boards Support Meaningful Change:
School boards support change that comes with positive outcomes and results for our kids and communities.

School Boards Encourage Vital Conversations:
School boards have always encouraged change and innovation for the sake of our kids and their future. During the provincial education review we invite all Manitobans to join us in building even brighter futures for our students and communities.

Education Review Timeline

February – May 2019

  • Online engagement and public and stakeholder meetings

April 24 – May 15, 2019

  • Interactive public workshops (registration required)

June 2019 – January 2020

  • Analysis and formulation of recommendations

February 2020

  • Recommendations to the Minister of Education and Training

March 2020

  • Public release