News Release

Steinbach, MB. March 6, 2018 – Hanover School Division Board of Trustees have approved the 2018-19 School Year Budget. With an anticipated enrollment increase of approximately 71 students, the 2018-19 budget provides necessary funding to meet the needs of continued divisional growth, while reducing budgetary impact on local taxation.

Operating expenses for 2018-19 are estimated to be $90.2 million dollars, which reflects a 2.74% increase in expenditures from 2017-18. To meet the needs of anticipated growth, the budget provides funding for additional instructional staff and expected operational expenses. Hanover School Division strives to provide the best education possible for students in our care, and continues to retain one of the lowest cost per student averages in the province.

Provincial funding has increased by 3.0% over the previous budget year, but as with all school divisions in Manitoba, government funding comprises only a portion of total operational revenue. Approximately 40% of required annual revenue needs to be obtained through education taxes in the form of a division-wide Mill Rate. Therefore, to meet budget revenue requirements for 2018-19 the education tax levy will be increased by 2.72%. Property reassessment and estimated growth in assessment will more than offset the small increase in levy, resulting in a decrease of the Mill Rate from 15.29 to 15.14. As such, the education tax levy on a sample house assessed at $250,000 will decrease by approximately $17 for 2018. Approval of the Mill Rate is conditional upon the continuation of existing provincial funding for the Early Years Enhancement Grant.

The Board of Trustees worked diligently to find cost savings, balancing the educational needs of students with projected divisional growth and provincial budget guidelines. HSD administration expenses continue to be among the lowest in the Province.

Hanover School Division serves the southeastern communities of Blumenort, Bothwell, Crystal Springs, Grunthal, Kleefeld, Landmark, Mitchell, Niverville, and Steinbach.

View School Tax FAQ

in: Board of Trustees News Releases